Victory Is Not a/the Goal

<>I have mentioned before that my name means “victory.” I have also put “victory” in quotes, when referring to the use of the word by President George W. Bush.Am I being sarcastic? Not exactly. What I want to express by putting “victory” in quotes is something different. The President’s use of the word is to say that somehow “victory” is our goal in Iraq. I want to correct him, schoolmarm-like, that victory is not a goal, victory is the state of achieving a specific goal.

Leave a Reply

